My Idea Lab

Linking my mind to the net.

(Not really) Weekly (Not exactly a) Photo Challenge: Hope

It’s a bit too late to participate in this week’s Photo Challenge, so I thought I’d share an experience related to its theme: hope.

I used to know someone who knew every fact about the Toronto Maple Leafs. Every game played, every player, the history of the team, all of it. Aside from this, I don’t think there was anything especially remarkable about her. She worked an ordinary job, had kids and grandkids, a high school education, and was married. I don’t mean to offend her, but her life seemed very ordinary.

But that mind of hers was extraordinary, that’s why I still remember her. I don’t think the Maple Leafs are the most effective use of her intellect, but the ability to remember all those facts and recall them at will still amazes me. I’ve tried to mould my mind into something as acute and efficient, but haven’t been able to accomplish half of what she did.

Her intelligence is what gives me hope. Not that I might have a great intellect, but that everyone else might have one. If she could accomplish so much in her ordinariness, it makes my skin tingle at what wonders the people around me are capable of.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

